Quality used books

Backyard Giants

Author:   

Description for BACKYARD GIANTS: THE PASSIONATE, HEARTBREAKING, AND GLORIOUS QUEST TO GROW THE BIGGEST PUMPKIN EVER by Susan Warren:

In the tradition of "Word Freak" and "Confederates in the Attic, " a charming, witty account of a season in mad pursuit of the world's largest pumpkin.

Every year, the race to grow the biggest pumpkin in the world draws a rowdy crowd of obsessive gardeners to county fairs and weigh-offs across the country. The competition is furious; there's sabotage and treachery and the heartbreak of root rot, and many a weigh-off ends in tears. This year more than just the grand prize is at stake. The Holy Grail is within reach: the world's first fifteen-hundred pound pumpkin. And Ron and Dick Wallace will stop at nothing to get it.

"Backyard Giants" follows a tumultuous season in the life of a close-knit tribe of competitors as they chase down the ultimate pumpkin prize. In the grueling and gut-wrenching quest for truly colossal fruit, vacations are postponed, marriages are strained, and savings accounts are emptied. Backyards are converted into leafy laboratories of biogenetics and toxic chemicals--to say nothing of pumpkin sex. Riding shotgun with Ron and his father Dick, "Wall Street Journal" editor Susan Warren brings to life a winning and unforgettable crew of pumpkin lunatics: the newbie who shocked everyone by growing the big one last year; the pro-bono slime scientist; the groundhog assassin; and the safety trainer who risked electrocuting himself to save his patch. Funny, sharp, and engaging, "Backyard Giants" is a romp through a charming corner of American life, as quirky and enchanting as the big pumpkins themselves.


$5.99

Add to Cart:

Condition: New, Slight shelf wear.
ISBN: 9781596912786
Shipping Weight: 1lbs
Published: 2007


This product was added to our catalog on Monday 14 January, 2013.



Parse Time: 2.024 - Number of Queries: 221 - Query Time: 1.15569099771