Quality used books



Description for BITTERSWEET by Mary Summer Rain:

Many dramatic changes have occurred in the life of Mary Summer Rain since the publication of Soul Sounds, some of them quite astounding in their implications. With illustrations, and a twelve-page color photo section, Bittersweet will be one of the most informative, interesting, and controversial books Mary Summer Rain has ever written.

Mary's own words from the foreword best describe what BITTERSWEET is all about:

"...the concept of publishing another journal was continually spearing through my consciousness. The relentless thought would not give me a moment's peace until I accepted that the twelfth book would be the manifestation of this bittersweet situation---a situation of doing a book I was reluctant to do bu couldn't not do. And in order to appease the former objection to the material, I would compromise by making this one different. It would not be arranged in the format of a daily diary as the first one was; it would be marked by the more outstanding events in my life. In this manner, the mundane aspects of my life have been left out and, instead, BITTERSWEET focuses on the main events that have transpired since SOUL SOUNDS ended.

"I've titled each of these separate events. Therefore, I suppose this format transforms the second journal into a collection of short stories rather than a day-by-day diary. And as I scanned the varying content of these separate stories, it struck me that I've come full circle. Book Number One began in a simple mountain log cabin and, by the end of Book Number Twelve, another tiny mountain dwelling nestled among the high pines becomes my mainstay."


Add to Cart:

Condition: Used - Like New, Slight shelf wear.
ISBN: 9781571740328
Shipping Weight: 1lbs
Published: 1995

This product was added to our catalog on Wednesday 09 April, 2014.

Parse Time: 1.751 - Number of Queries: 221 - Query Time: 0.857735405899